The Americas Cup

The Americas Cup is informally known as the “Auld Mug” and is the oldest formally recognised international sporting competition.

Races are between 2 sailing boats, one challenger and one defender (the current cup holders).

It’s not a yearly event nor does it have any fixed schedule, instead dates are agreed between the 2 parties.

Any yacht club can make a challenge if they meet the requirements in the “deed of gift” and can safely challenge the defenders.

History of Americas Cup

The history of the cup dates back to 1851 when a business syndicate out of New York bought a boat and sailed the schooner “America” across the Atlantic for the World Fair in England winning a race around the Isle of Wight against a fleet of British yachts.

They claimed the prize of the £100 cup which wouldn’t get you many boating products or gear these days nor go far towards maintenance of your sailing ship.

From there on the United States embarked on the longest winning streak in history defending the trophy 24 times through a period from 1870 to 1983 until Australia successfully challenged and won in 1983.

Americas Cup Defenders And Challenges


Year Defender Country Challenger Country Won By
1851 15 yachts England America USA America
1870 Magic USA Cambria England Magic
1871 Columbia / Sappho USA Livonia England Columbia / Sappho
1876 Madeleine USA Countess of Dufferin Canada Madeleine
1881 Mischief USA Atalanta Canada Mischief
1885 Puritan USA Genesta England Puritan
1886 Mayflower USA Galatea England Mayflower
1887 Volunteer USA Thistle England Volunteer
1893 Vigilant USA Valkyrie II England Vigilant
1895 Defender USA Valkyrie III England Defender
1899 Columbia USA Shamrock England Columbia
1901 Columbia USA Shamrock II England Columbia
1903 Reliance USA Shamrock III England Reliance
1920 Resolute USA Shamrock IV England Resolute
1930 Enterprise USA Shamrock V England Enterprise
1934 Rainbow USA Endeavour England Rainbow
1937 Ranger USA Endeavour II England Ranger
1958 Columbia USA Sceptre England Columbia
1962 Weatherly USA Gretel Australia Weatherly
1964 Constellation USA Sovereign England Constellation
1967 Intrepid USA Dame Pattie Australia Intrepid
1970 Intrepid USA Gretel II Australia Intrepid
1974 Courageous USA Southern Cross Australia Courageous
1977 Courageous USA Australia Australia Courageous
1980 Freedom USA Australia Australia Freedom
1983 Liberty USA Australia II Australia Australia II
1987 Kookaburra III Australia Stars & Stripes ’87 USA Stars & Stripes ’87
1988 Stars & Stripes ’89 USA New Zealand Challenge New Zealand Stars & Stripes
1992 America3 USA Il Moro di Venezia Italy America3
1995 Young America USA Team New Zealand New Zealand Team New Zealand
2000 Team New Zealand New Zealand Luna Rossa Italy Team New Zealand
2003 Team New Zealand New Zealand Alinghi Switzerland Alinghi
2007 Alinghi Switzerland Emirates Team New Zealand New Zealand Alinghi
2010 Alinghi  Switzerland BMW Oracle Racing USA BMW Oracle Racing
2013 Oracle Team USA USA Emirates Team New Zealand New Zealand Oracle Team USA
2017 Oracle Team USA USA Emirates Team New Zealand New Zealand Emirates Team New Zealand

Why is my boat motor not peeing?

First and foremost, what do I mean by “peeing”? Most motors include

Read More

How do boats make rooster tails?

Rooster tails usually occur when the propeller shaft is facing upwards. Therefore,

Read More

5 Ways to Tell if a Boat Engine Block is Cracked

A cracked engine block on your boat hinders its performance. So, knowing

Read More

Is boat paint the same as car paint?

Despite taking good care of my boat for several decades, I have

Read More